Bagalkote District

Bagalkot is a district headquarters in Karnataka. The district is situated in North Karnataka. And has its borders with Belgaum, Gadag, Koppal, Raichur and Bijapur. In the memorable phase of India’s Independence Day in India, Dwara became the new district under the direction of the RD-LRD Part I of the Karnataka Government. H. Inaugurated by Patel. Historically, the district of Bagalkot is a land of valor. Badami, Aihole, Pattadakal, Kudalasangama and Mahakuta are some of the major attractions of the place.

According to the inscriptions found here, the original name was Bagadi. Legend has it that Ravana, a Sri Lankan ruler of the region, contributed to the city with the Bajantri (musicians). It is said that the kings of Bijapur contributed to the town as a gift of bracelets to his daughter (as is the tradition of father-mother money to buy bangles, saris and jewelery after her daughter’s wedding). As a result, the town’s name became “Bagadikote” and later became Bagalkot. Later, Bagalkot fell to the Vijayanagara rulers, the Peshwas, the Mysore Hyderis, the Maratha rulers and finally the British in 1818. Came into existence in 1865 as a municipality. Bagalkot was central to the “Independence Movement” and “Karnataka Unification Movement”.

Today, Bagalkot is divided into two parts, New Bagalkot or Navanagar and Old Bagalkot Town. Most of the old town has been submerged due to the construction of the Alamatti Dam. Because of this, the construction of a new city was necessary. The city is a well-planned town with extensive roads, parks, and other modern amenities. The chief architect of the town of Bagalkot is Charles Correa.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button