Shivamogga District

Shimoga is a city in the Indian state of Karnataka (contact: 1.6 / 10.5 Poo). It is 4 km from Bangalore, the capital city of Karnataka. In the distance. Shimoga is the capital of the district. Shimoga District is a part of the Karnataka Highland District.

The Sahyadri Range and its rising river-tributaries add to the natural beauty of Shimoga. The world famous Jog Falls, located at a distance of 3 km from Shimoga, is a breathtaking sight. The river Sharavathi is a breathtaking view of the river. Diving into four different streams: King, Queen, Roarer and Rocket, Sharavathi has created Asia’s highest waterfall. During the rainy season, the waterfall displays the most spectacular scenery, with bows made of sand. Shimoga district is a rice bowl of Karnataka with its watersheds from Tungabhadra, Sharavathi, Kumudwati and other rivers.

The name Shivamogga is derived from the word ‘Shiva-mukha’. Another etymology is the ‘sweet-mogge’ (sweet bud), which became a ‘Shimoga’. Samrat was the southernmost point of Ashoka’s Mauryan empire in the 7th century. The region was ruled by several dynasties in the following centuries: the Kadambas in the 5th century, the Chalukyas in the 6th century and the Gangas in their 5th century, the Rashtrakutas in the 6th century, the Hoysalas in the 6th century and the Vijayanagara rulers in the 9th century. Shimoga was an independent town during the rule of the lower 7th century rulers. Shimoga was a part of the Mysore kingdom until the independence of India after the 7th century.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button