Vijayapur district

Vijayapur is a district in the state of Karnataka. Vijayapur is the district headquarters of the district. Vijayapur is about 530 km north-west of Bangalore. In the distance.

The ancient name of Vijayapur is Bijjanahalli. The district is full of historical sites. Established by the Kalyani Chalukyas in the 10-11th centuries. Vijayapur came under the influence of the Khilji Sultanate of Delhi in the late 13th century AD. In 1347, the Bahmani Bahmani came under the rule of the Sultanate.

AD In 1518, the Bahmani Sultanate was split into five kingdoms. Vijayapura was one of the states that formed then. It is the state of Adil Shahi Sultanate. AD After the conquest of the region by the Mughal Emperor Aurangzeb in 1686, the rule of Adil Shahi Sultanate ended.

AD In 1724, Vijayapur came under the rule of the Nizam of Hyderabad. C. Sh. When the Nizams were defeated by the Marathas in 1760, the Vijayapura Nizams were under the power of the Maratha Peshwas. Then AD. When the Marathas were defeated by the British during the Anglo-Maratha War of 1818, the Vijayapur Marathas were under British rule. Vijayapur was then handed over to the British East India Company. The Satara was then passed over to the kings.

AD In 1848 Satara and Vijayapur were annexed to the province of Mumbai. The present-day Vijayapur and Bagalkot districts were added to the Kalagi district, which was represented by the British. The district headquarters of Kalagi was built in AD. In 1885, it was transferred to Vijayapur as a district administration.

And then AD. In 1956 it was added to the then state of Mysore (now Karnataka State). The city of Vijayapur was once the second largest city in the world. Currently Vijayapur is the 9th largest city in the state of Karnataka. The city of Vijayapur has been declared by the Karnataka State Government as the city of Vijayapur in 2013.

It is built on a hill at an altitude of 600 meters above sea level and has abundant groundwater availability. From a tactical standpoint, these are two very important things. Because the city was so secure, it was chosen as the capital again and again.

An inscription and inscriptions and literary evidence have helped to conclude that Vijayapura was glorious in the seventh century. But there is no trace of the grandeur of architecture and sculpture of that time.

Yusuf Ali Shah, released from the Bahmani Empire, decided to establish an independent state. The new dynasty was called Adil Shahi. He chose Vijayapura as his capital. Many of the rulers of Adil Shahi led to the development of different phases of Vijayapur city. Prominent among them were Yusuf Ali Shah, Ismail Ali Shah, Ibrahim Ali Shah-1, Ali Adil Shah, Ibrahim Ali Shah-2 and Mohammad Adil Shah.

The constant conflict with the other sultans, separate from the Vijayanagara Empire, the Mughal Empire and the Bahmani Empire, undermined the stability of Adil Shahi. In time, the Peshwas of Maharashtra and the Nizam of Hyderabad invaded Vijayapur. Finally, the British became its owner, adding it to the Mumbai Presidency.

Vijayapur is a fine example of Islamic style architecture and sculpture. The sculptures can be classified into four categories: mosques, tombs, palaces and forts. Some of the Hindu temples that have been built nowadays have little importance in terms of art.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button