Dharwad District

Dharwad is a city in the state of Karnataka; Dharwad is the headquarters of the Dharwad district. Dharwad city is the second largest city after Bangalore in Karnataka. Darawada is the original form of Dharwad, Dharwad. The much-discussed Dharwad village of Nippi is also likely to be anonymous. The name Dharwad is derived from the Dharavadh District Gazetteer who built a fort in Dhararav during the Rama Raja period of Vijayanagar. However, the name Darawada is used in the Dharwad inscription of AD.

The history of Dharwad begins from the fact that the Pandavas stayed at Hanagal during the Puranic period. According to the copper inscriptions, Dharwad is said to have been under the rule of the Banavasi Kadambara. Chalukyas in the seventh century AD In the ninth century, the Rashtrakutas were ruled by the Devagiri Yadavas in the twelfth century. Later it became part of the Vijayanagara Empire.

After the fall of the Vijayanagara Empire, the Dharwad district rose to prominence over the hands of the Adil Shahi Sultans of Bijapur. The main reason for this was the fort built by Adil Shahi Sultan – Mannikille, which was then known as Nazaratabad. After the Adil Shahi Sultanate, the Dharwad district was in the hands of the Mughal Empire for a while and then the Marathas, Haider Ali and Teipu Sultan and the British. Dharwad, which was ruled by the Mumbai government, played a key role in the Karnataka unification struggle.

Student Organization for the first time in Karnataka Annadanayya Purana was organized by the All Karnataka Students Council on behalf of the All India Karnataka Unification Struggle. The KPCC meeting, chaired by Nijalingappa, was the key reason for the KPCC to decide on Karnataka’s unification when the KPCC meeting was held under the chairmanship of Nijalingappa.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button